Happy New Year

Like many of you I suspect, the fall has always felt like the beginning of a new year more than January 1. I suspect this is because for anyone in school or has kids in school, this time of year so clearly marks a new beginning. For me, it’s because the fall always designated the start of a new soccer season. Throughout my life, even when I was playing year round, the fall always designated the start of the season, new teammates, new leagues, new cup season to look forward to in the spring, new shoes. To this day, even though my playing days are well behind me, this is my new year.

Happy New Year!

For those of you entering your final year of something, high school (like my son), college, graduate school, your current job, I wish you the joy and pride of graduating onto the next stage of your life. For those of you entering your first year of something, I challenge you to be the person (or player) you want to be as you begin anew. For those of you, like me, who are just preparing for another trip around the sun, “Once more unto the breach, dear friends, once more”

For those of you starting a new soccer season, enjoy! I am jealous.

